What Color Should it Be?

That was the question recently posed to the nine of us. Without spoiling the item we’re trying to embellish, it got me wondering about the best way to choose colors. Do we select by what we like? Or do we choose a color that provokes a certain emotion?

I recently painted a room in my home. I wanted yellow, but I didn’t want to be agitated every time I was in that room. (In case you haven’t heard the warning, yellow can make you irritable). In the end, it took me two years to settle on a shade that wound up looking more like Yum Yum Sauce* than yellow.

Some people have the knack for color selection, but I find the decision process perplexing. ColorSchemer is a web site just for that sort of problem. They have tools that help you design your own color combos. Or you can select from a mix someone else created. All for free!

But even so, all those choices only confuse me more. Do I choose the blue with the yellow or go with the monochromatic reds? I don’t know. Maybe it’s a good thing we have a few artists on the project. I’m sure they’ll come up with the right color.

Meanwhile, the nine of us continue to scheme our story.

Ah, now that’s something I can do.

*Note: If the recipe for the Yum Yum Sauce I linked is any good, let me know. There seems to be a squabble on whether or not mayonaise is used in it.

Leave a comment

Filed under artifact related

Leave a Reply

